Monday, November 9, 2009

It's a Man's World

Scrappy, Flip and (my personal favorite) Spoog were sitting around one day having a conversation. It probably went something like this.
"Hey Scrappy whadda ya doin' tonight?"
"Bubba and I headin' over to Sherm's."
"I hear that Fuzz is havin' a party."
"Well you'll probably find Chicken and his old lady there."
Please note that real names have not been used. It's not becuase I'm protecting the innocent. It's not because the men that my husband (Flip) knows don't have "normal" names. It's because they don't use their real names when talking to or about each other.
When I was in college there was a fraternity house who's parties I was frequently at. None of these men, to my recollection, ever used his real name either. Instead they used their pledge names--names that they were assigned as a sort of humilation/hazing ritual when attempting to join said fraternity. Things like Booger and Roach and (once again) Spoog. I get that. I understand the bonding that goes on over a keg of cheap beer in a nasty basement while reciting the Greek alphabet in your underwear. You're really not grown up yet. What I don't get is why guys don't grow out of that behavior.
Bubba, Scrappy, Spoog, and the rest of them are in their late thirties and forties. The basements are cleaner, the beer isn't as cheap, the men older but the nicknames are still the same.
I'd say its a quirk of the men my husband chooses to be friends with. All the guys from his hometown also have wacky nicknames like Chicken but the names of the guys my father is friends with are also unknown to me for the most part. They all have nicknames, too starting with my dad who has been Pollack since I was a child.
They say that women are hard to understand, but at least when I talk about my friends I use the names that their mamma's worked so hard to choose for them. We don't call each other using slang terms for bodily fluids and barnyard animals. It's gotta be a guy thing!

No comments:

Post a Comment